Musical Rooms

February 8, 2009

Musical Rooms Part 57: Ane Brun

Filed under: Interviews,Music,Musical Rooms Series — by Sinéad Gleeson @ 2:24 pm
Tags: , ,

anebrun

“My favourite space to create music in is my studio in Stockholm, Sweden. It consists of three beautiful rooms in an old building from the 1600´s. Thick, brick walls and windows enclose a charming backyard where the birds sing when spring comes. It has an open fireplace that keeps us warm in winter and it is very cool and nice in summer. I share it with two other magnificent artists: an author and another musician.

I have a piano and different guitars hanging on the walls. There is an autoharp, accordions, computers, microphones and microphone stands. There are lots of different percussion instruments lying around and plenty of bookshelves. The most important thing for me to have in here with me, are my guitars, my recording equipment (computer and mics) and an inspired Ane.

At certain periods I am there for six to eight hours a day, but at other time, I’m not there at all – it all depends on what’s going on or whether I’m on tour or no. The composition process, for me, is not something that happens everyday, but more at special periods of time when I have decided to work on new material. When I’m working on new songs, I prefer being by myself, at least when composing. The recording process can be more stimulating done together with someone else.

I usually get started with an idea, which is either a phrase or a guitar riff, or just a draft for lyrics. I find it easiest to compose while recording at the same time. Then I can improvise and the ideas that I come up with won’t disappear. I save the parts I am happy with, and try to build bridges between them until I feel it’s a complete song.

What I like most about this place is the peaceful atmosphere and focus that I find there.”

****************************************************************

Norweigan-born Stockholm-based Ane Brun has just released her latest album Changing Of The Seasons. It includes her cover of ‘True Colours’ which is currently being used on an ad for Sky HD. Released on her own DetErMine Records, a single ‘The Treehouse Song’ is released here on February 9th, and she will play some Irish dates in March. For more information and details of upcoming live shows, visit www.myspace.com/anebrun or www.anebrun.com

About Musical Rooms
Musical Rooms Full Index

1 Comment »

  1. Oh I love Ane Bruns voice and some excellent tunes off of Changing of the Seasons. Great to hear that she is coming back here- have been checking her MySpace for a while but nothing has been posted for Ireland just yet. There is a great video recording of one her gigs on FabChannel: http://www.fabchannel.com/ane_brun_2008_concert

    Comment by tenacioustimothy — February 8, 2009 @ 11:29 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

